From the west

23 11 2006

When people said “from the West” or “Western clothes” or “aping the West”, I always thought that they were referring to Ahmedabad or Gujarat or maybe Bombay. In the Indian context, Gujarat is in the west. But I could never relate any of the things they said about the West, with Gujarat or Bombay. Like the so called “western clothes” had nothing Gujarati about them as such.

I was ten then and I had a whole lot of such interpretations. Yesterday I giggled when a lady was talking over the phone with a prospective landlord to ask if the loo was Indian or Western. Poor lady was embarrassed to see me laughing. Now what was I to do? Tell her the whole story?

Actions

Information

One response

25 11 2006
Niren

🙂 nice blog! Had a good bit of a laugh looking at your yo-bykes post… lol. And like the “bestu varas” post pictures. Keep it up.

Leave a Reply

