Unsubscribing from Desipundit

20 06 2006

I use Google reader to keep track of updates on my daily reading list that mainly consists of blogs and comics. I have also subscribed to sites like Desipundit – a website dedicated to summarizing good posts on a variety of topics from the Indian blogosphere. And I have to say that they are doing a fairly good job of it. I have come across some amazing articles and blogs, thanks to Desipundit. The problem is that I have a large reading list too. Of my favourite blogs that I read regularly. What happens is in the morning, when I open my sweet little Google reader, almost always it is flooded with unread posts from Desipundit. Considering they cover a huge base of Indian bloggers and that they have multiple contributors working round the clock, the high volume of posts is normal. So, I read one post on Desipundit and one more and then I get impatient about what my friends have written said on their blogs. So I go on a clicking frenzy marking Desipundit posts as read so I can peacefully look at only my personal favourite blogs. A lot of posts on Desipundit are published multiple times, making it even more difficult to dig through the clogged reading list. And these days the first post I see is a Tamil one! I mean except for people Tamil Nadu, desis from the rest of India can not read Tamil! I really wish Google reader had a utility where you could just ask it to mark all posts from a certain website as read. I came back from a long vacation and I have a zillion posts waiting to be read, 95% from Desipundit. Anyway, Desipundit stands unsubscribed from my reading list now. Even after unsubscribing, I had to manually go and mark the older posts as read.

As of now, my plan is to visit Desipundit once in a while to get the general picture. I hope I dont miss out on the good stuff they post once in a while.

Actions

Information

3 responses

20 06 2006
Patrix

Glad to get your feedback. I hope I can address your concerns so here goes:

A lot of posts on Desipundit are published multiple times, making it even more difficult to dig through the clogged reading list.

Many times errors like broken links or typos creep in the posts so we have to correct them. Unfortunately, RSS readers mark those posts as unread again. I deal with a similar problem on other large blogs as well. Also our Second Chance section requires us to give certain posts a ‘second chance’ because either their are popular or not as widely read as we think they would. Visit our website and scroll down to see what I mean. These posts are appear as unread in a RSS reader when edited.

the first post I see is a Tamil one! I mean except for people Tamil Nadu, desis from the rest of India can not read Tamil!

I know that not many people read Tamil but then again, we at DesiPundit are trying to be inclusive of other regional languages which are also a part of the Indian blogosphere. Currently, we have designed our website in such a way that these regional posts do not appear on the front page but have an individual page (linked on the front page). But we haven’t separated them from the main feed. Considering that Indic posts aren’t added as often as English posts, we hope our RSS readers would scroll down. If Indic posting frequency increases, we’ll remove them from the main feed (separate feeds for Indic posts are already available)

So, I read one post on Desipundit and one more and then I get impatient about what my friends have written said on their blogs.

A better strategy would be to make a category of blogs that you like to read first. Go thru them before even touching other blogs. Bloglines has such a feature. I have divided my 200+ blogs into almost 7-8 categories and read them in the order I prefer.

Anyway, thanks for sharing your views. Hope to see you subscribed or better still, viewing our website in all its color. Thanks.

21 06 2006
Sneha

Patrix, thanks for reading the post and taking out time to address some of my concerns. I didn’t mean to write a formal feedback on Desipundit, the post was more like a rant. Anyway, let me see if I can organize my subscriptions better in my RSS reader. 🙂

4 12 2007
rahul

its such a nice bike wich save lot of money as fule charges.this is happen 1st time in the history which is pollution free i m loivine it

Leave a Reply

